Dunlop Riders Continue Win Streak in 2017 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Season


If the 2017 season continues as it has so far, this could be Dunlop’s sixth undefeated AMA Pro motocross season in eight years. So far, Dunlop riders have been won every moto in 2017, and with a little luck will add another perfect season to Dunlop’s AMA Pro racing record. 

It’s also been a great season for Team Dunlop Elite alumni, riders who graduated from Dunlop’s amateur program to the professional ranks and flourished. So far this season, Team D alumni winners include Eli Tomac and Blake Baggett in the 450 class, and Joey Savatgy and Aaron Plessinger in 250 competition. Team D alum have also filled the top five in the 250 class, including Adam Cianciarulo and Austin Forkner. 

The season began as most predicted, with Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac taking the overall win the 450 class at Hangtown, and reining 250SX East champ Husqvarna’s Zach Osborne taking the 250 win. From there, however, the season was anything but predictable. 

At Glen Helen, KTM’s Marvin Musquin ruled the day, besting Jason Anderson and Baggett. In 250 action, Osborne dominated again, this time over Jeremy Martin and French MXGP veteran Dylan Ferrandis. 

The Thunder Valley MX really shook the field, with Baggett taking his first career overall 450 class win over Musquin and Anderson. Savatgy bested the 250 field with Alex Martin and brother Jeremy in tow. Baggett proved his dominating win at Thunder Valley was no fluke by winning again at High Point over Anderson and Broc Tickle, who edged out Tomac for third. Jeremy Martin became the third winner in the 250 class over Osborne and Plessinger. 

At the latest round in Tennessee, Plessinger put the field behind him with Osborne and Forkner filling out the podium. And in the 450 class, Tomac put his season struggles behind him to post his second win of the season over Anderson and Baggett. 

With five of twelve rounds in the books, both championships have a long way to go. Baggett leads the 450 class by four points over Tomac, while Osborne’s early wins and consistent finishes give him a commanding lead in the 250 class over the Martin brothers. 

Lucas Oil AMA Pro 450 Point Standings: 

Blake Baggett 195

Eli Tomac 191 

Jason Anderson 176

Marvin Musquin 161

Broc Tickle 139


Lucas Oil AMA Pro 250 Point Standings: 

Zach Osborne 207

Alex Martin 176

Jeremy Martin 171

Aaron Plessinger 165

Austin Forkner 159